Special 20th anniversary

of Resolution 1325

message from president of mouvement inamahoro

dr. marie louise baricako

Burundian women join the rest of the world in celebrating the 20th anniversary of Resolution 1325 on   Women, Peace and Security.

 

Resolution 1325 is a United Nations Security Council resolution passed on    August 31, 2000, so there are 20 YEARS of that.  It is the first resolution of its kind that evokes not  only the  disproportionate impact of  conflict on   women  but also their  role  in conflict resolution  and   peace-building,  even  if this  role  is often  underestimated  by other  consolidation actors.  In addition to the case of  Burundi,  which was topical at the moment, the experiences of countries that have experienced recent conflicts such as the former Yugoslavia, Rwanda, Sierra  Leone,  Liberia,  as well as other conflict zones have largely inspired the birth of Resolution 1325 , which  has  fundamentally changed the image of women in conflict situations, from victims to participants actively working to maintain and consolidate peace and negotiate..

This resolution  therefore  calls  on States and other actors  involved in the resolution of the various conflicts to recognize this  role and to  give  women the place they deserve to  make their contribution,  which the United Nations believes is essential if we are to truly  bring about peace in our countries. This resolution is based on three pillars known as 3 P: prevention and protection from acts of violence during wars and other conflict situations and  participation in  decision-making spheres, including  peace processes.  

This resolution was followed by others to strengthen these three pillars and together the 10 resolutions already voted since 2000 constitute the WOMEN PEACE AND SECURITY AGENDA (WPS).

Burundian women attach great importance to this resolution for several reasons :

1. It was voted two  months after the signing of the Arusha Agreement for Peace and Reconciliation and the experience of  Burundian women in the  Arusha   negotiations, as well as  the various activities   organized on the ground, helped to document the  drafting of the Resolution 1325. As a reminder,  Burundian men have not welcomed  the strong willingness of women to participate  in peace  negotiations. One of the  politicians did not even  hesitate to say that  "our  place is in bed and in the kitchen" or" Negotiations is not a  children's  game"  (Si aho  gutuma  umwana). « It was in front of high-profile figures in this case Ruth Sando Perry, former President of the transitional government in Liberia, one of the facilitators in the inter-Burundian negotiations. Stunned, she asked him to apologize and he did it in spite of himself.

During this period of negotiations,  Resolution  1325  was not yet there to assist us in our  advocacy,  but we  used other mechanisms such as the Convention for the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women(CEDAW) which reminds  states that they must ban all forms of discrimination against women.  We could also  mention  the  Beijing platform for action from the 4th Women's Conference in which  Burundi participated  and which  calls for  the consideration of women in all  aspects of the peace processes, but this action plan was not yet widely popularized at the Burundi level. 

Despite the obstacles and thanks to the valuable support in the Burundian  conflict, late President  Nelson  Mandela and other women's organizations such as Femmes Africa Solidarité (FAS) and UNIFEM (now UN Women), the women's delegation has done an extraordinary job:  to push for a ceasefire so that the negotiations take place in a calm environment, and to influence taking into account gender provisions in the Arusha Peace Agreement and above all  a minimum quota of 30% of women's participation in transitional  and post-transition institutions.

2. However, Resolution 1325 came  in due course  as  an advocacy tool for women's involvement  in the implementation of the Arusha Agreement for Peace and  Reconciliation. And among  African countries,  Burundi was among the top 15 to adopt a national action plan for  the Resolution,  thus showing  its real domestication at the national level. 

3. The history of Burundi, as often elsewhere in countries that have experienced conflict, tells us that the fight for peace requires constant vigilance because  at any moment the country is likely  to fall further  into  violence. And that's what unfortunately happened in our country with the crisis of 2015 while a few years before we rather believed the war hatchet  completely  buried. The hard-negotiated Arusha Agreement for Peace and Reconciliation had created a climate of appeasement that Burundian women were proud of, because we took part in participating in its implementation was a source of satisfaction. As in previous crises,  the 2015 crisis took human lives,  others went on the path  of  exile. Advocating for peace has become a risk because for most of the time you run up against  the interests  of often powerful people who can  turn their power against you.  But do we have to give up? Not to talk about the peaceful resolution of conflicts, not to talk about justice for all, good governance or or state of law?  Or fail to claim our space and role in conflict resolution?   No, because  that is  even why the Resolution1325 exists  to encourage us. She's the one who gives us the strength to keep fighting.

4 . Today, as we celebrate the 20th anniversary of resolution 1325, we can congratulate ourselves for contributing to its birth, we have adopted it, it has  served us, it is part of us. Even for those who are in exile, we will still observe a great resilience, we are still standing  and  not willing to give up,  with a hope that tomorrow or the day after tomorrow, peace will reign once again in the  country and that everyone will be able to enjoy it.

I pay tribute to all The Burundian women, who since 1993 have been on the front line of    peace, reconciliation, peaceful cohabitation, and mediation of community conflicts. Several names are in my  head,  these women are present in all the provinces of the  country, they are quiet but active forces.  I can affirm without any doubt  that catastrophic situations have been prevented,  hearts have been soothed, thanks to women's interventions. Their testimonies are so rich that it is difficult to tell them in this few lines. As a representative, to name but a few, I pay tribute to  Goreti and Schola of DUSHIREHAMWE, Dorothea  (DOROTEYA) and Georgette of  KINAMA,  Marianne of  RUTANA,  all the members of the women local mediators Network and all those who resemble them in the implementation of the Women's Peace and  Security Agenda in Burundi. I  do not forget  to celebrate the Coalition of Women's Associations and  NGOs  of Burundi (CAFOB),  which played an important role in mobilizing women for peace after the 1993 crisis and in the Arusha peace process and which is still holding firm. The story of  Resolution 1325 is  mostly  yours.  

I express my gratitude to all the partners who accompanied us on this trip for peace in Burundi:  UN WOMEN, International Alert, Search for Common Ground, Women Africa Solidarity, Global Network for Women Peacebuilders, Women International Peace Center (WIPC)  and many others.

To all of you who believe that "THE WOMAN COUNTS FOR PEACE», happy anniversary of resolution 1325.

Catherine Mabobori

General Secretary

Mouvement Inamahoro

Spécial 20è anniversaire

de la Résolution 1325

message de la presidente du mouvement inamahoro

dr. marie louise baricako

Les femmes burundaises se joignent au reste du Monde pour la célébration du 20 ème anniversaire de la Résolution 1325 sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité.   

 

La résolution 1325 est une résolution du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies  votée le 31 Aout 2000, il ya donc de cela

20 ANS.  C’est la première résolution de ce genre qui évoque non seulement l’impact disproportionné qu’ont les conflits sur les femmes mais aussi leur rôle dans la résolution des conflits et dans la consolidation de la paix, même si ce rôle est souvent sous-estimé par les autres acteurs.  Outre le cas du Burundi, qui était d’actualité en ce moment , les expériences vécues dans les pays ayant connu des conflits meurtriers comme l’ex Yougoslavie , le Rwanda , la Sierra Léone , le Liberia , ainsi que d’autres zones de conflit ont  largement inspiré la naissance de la Résolution 1325 , qui a fondamentalement changé l’image des femmes dans les situations de conflit  ,  de celle de victimes à celle de participantes œuvrant activement au maintien et à la consolidation de la paix ainsi qu'aux négociations.

Cette résolution appelle donc les Etats et d’autres acteurs impliqués dans les résolutions des différents conflits à reconnaitre ce rôle et à donner aux femmes la place qu’il faut pour qu’elles puissent donner leur contribution que les nations Unies estiment incontournable si on veut vraiment faire régner la paix dans nos pays.  Cette résolution repose sur trois piliers qu’on qualifie de 3 P : la prévention et la protection contre les actes de violence pendant les guerres et d’autres situations de conflits et la participation dans les sphères de prise de décisions y compris dans les processus de paix.

 Cette résolution a été suivi par d’autres pour renforcer ces trois piliers et ensemble les 10 résolutions déjà votées depuis 2000 constituent l’ AGENDA  FEMMES  PAIX ET SECURITE.

Les femmes burundaises attachent beaucoup d’importance à cette résolution pour plusieurs raisons:

1.    Elle a été votée deux mois après la signature de l’Accord d’Arusha pour la paix et la réconciliation et l’expérience des femmes burundaises dans les négociations d’Arusha ainsi que les différentes activités organisées sut terrain ont participé à documenter la rédaction de la Résolution 1325. Pour rappel, les hommes burundais n’ont pas vu d’un bon œil la volonté très affichée des femmes de vouloir participer aux négociations de paix. Un des hommes politiques n’a même pas hésité à dire Que « notre place se trouve au lit et à la cuisine » ou encore « Les négociations n’est pas un jeu d’enfants » (Si aho gutuma umwana). C’était trop osé devant des hautes personnalités en l’occurrence Madame Ruth Sando Perry , ancienne Présidente du gouvernement de transition au Liberia , une des facilitatrices dans les négociations inter-burundaises .  Sidérée, cette dernière lui a demandé de s’excuser et il l’a fait malgré lui.

Pendant cette période des négociations, la résolution 1325 n’était pas encore là pour nous aider dans notre plaidoyer mais nous avons utilisé d’autres mécanismes comme la Convention contre l’élimination de toutes formes de discrimination à l’égard de la femme (CEDEF ) qui rappelle aux Etats qu’ils doivent bannir toutes formes de discrimination à l’égard de la femme.  On pouvait aussi évoquer la plateforme d’action de Beijing issue de la 4 ème conférence des femmes à laquelle le Burundi a participé et qui appelle à la prise en compte des femmes dans  tous les aspects des processus de paix   mais ce plan d’action n’était pas encore largement vulgarisé au niveau du Burundi .

Malgré les obstacles et grâce à la précieuse appui du médiateur dans le conflit inte- burundais ,  le Président  Nelson Mandela  ainsi que les autres organisations des femmes comme Femmes Africa Solidarité et UNIFEM ( Aujourd’hui ONU FEMMES ) ,  la délégation des femmes a  fait un travail extraordinaire : faire pression pour qu’il y ait un cessez le feu pour  que les négociations  se passent dans la sérénité , et influencer la prise en compte du genre dans l’Accord d’Arusha  et surtout un quota minimal  de 30% de participation des femmes dans les institutions de transition et post transition.

 

2.   Cependant la résolution 1325 est venu en temps utile comme outil de plaidoyer pour l’implication des femmes dans la mise en application de l’Accord d’Arusha pour la paix et la réconciliation. Et parmi les pays africains, le Burundi a été parmi les 15 premiers à adopter un plan d’action national de la Résolution, affichant ainsi sa domestication réelle au niveau natinal.

3.  L’histoire du Burundi comme souvent ailleurs dans les pays qui ont connu des conflits, nous révèle que la lutte pour la paix nécessite une vigilance permanente car à tout moment le pays est susceptible de basculer encore dans la violence. Et c’est ce qui est arrivé malheureusement dans notre pays avec la crise de 2015 alors que quelques années plutôt on croyait la hache de guerre complétement enterrée. L’Accord d’Arusha pour la paix et la Réconciliation durement négocié avait créé un climat d’apaisement dont les burundaises étions fières, car nous y avons pris part et la participation dans sa mise en application n’était que satisfaction.  Comme dans les crises précédentes, la crise de 2015 a emporté des vies humaines, d’autres ont emprunté le chemin de l’exil. Militer pour la paix est devenu un risque car pour la plupart des fois, vous vous heurtez aux intérêts des gens souvent puissants qui peuvent retourner leur puissance contre vous. Mais doit on baisser les bras pour autant ? Ne pas parler de la résolution pacifique des conflits, ne pas parler de la justice pour tous, de la bonne gouvernance ou l ‘Etat de droit ? Ou ne pas réclamer notre place et rôle dans la résolution des conflits ?  Non, car c’est même pour quoi la Résolution 1325 existe pour nous y encourager. C’est elle qui nous donne la force de continuer à nous battre.  

4 . Aujourd’hui que nous célébrons le 20eme anniversaire de la Résolution 1325, nous pouvons nous féliciter d’avoir contribué à sa naissance, nous l’avons adopté, elle nous a servi, elle fait partie de nous. Même pour celles qui sont en exil, nous pouvons nous féliciter pour notre résilience et pour notre volonté de ne pas baisser les bras, de rester debout, avec un espoir que demain ou après-demain, la paix règnera encore une fois au pays et que tout le monde pourra en jouir.

Je rends hommage à toutes les femmes burundaises, qui depuis 1993 sont sur le front de la paix, de la réconciliation, de la cohabitation pacifique, de la médiation des conflits communautaires. Plusieurs noms défilent dans ma tête, ces femmes sont présentes dans toutes les provinces du pays, elles sont des forces tranquilles mais agissantes.  Je peux affirmer sans risque de me tromper que des situations catastrophiques ont pu être évitées, des cœurs ont été apaisées, grâce aux interventions des femmes.  Leurs témoignages sont tellement riches qu’il est difficile de les raconter dans ce quelques lignes. A titre représentatif, je rends hommage à Goreti et Schola de DUSHIREHAMWE, à Dorothée (DOROTEYA) et Georgette de KINAMA, à Marianne de RUTANA, à toutes les femmes du Réseau des Femmes Médiatrices et à toutes celles qui leur ressemblent dans la mise en œuvre de l’agenda Femmes Paix et Sécurité au Burundi. Je n’oublie pas de célébrer le Collectif des Associations et Ongs féminines du Burundi (CAFOB), qui a joué un rôle important dans la mobilisation des femmes pour la paix après la crise de 1993 et dans le processus de paix d’Arusha et qui tient toujours bon.  L’histoire de la Résolution 1325 est surtout la vôtre.

  

J’exprime ma reconnaissance à tous les partenaires qui nous ont accompagné dans ce voyage pour la paix au Burundi : ONUFEMMES, International Alert , Search for Common Ground , Femmes Africa Solidarité , Global Network for Women Peacebuilders et bien d’autres .

A vous tous et toutes qui croyez que « LA FEMME COMPTE POUR LA PAIX », joyeux anniversaire de la Résolution 1325.

Catherine Mabobori

Secrétaire Générale

Mouvement Inamahoro

MOUVEMENT INAMAHORO

Femmes & Filles pour la Paix & la Sécurité

Email: info@inamahoro.org

Phone: +250 786 183 114

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

Pour nos nouvelles mensuelles